Skip to Content

Newfoundland Coat of Arms

Newfoundland and Labrador Coat of Arms

The Newfoundland Coat of Arms was officially adopted in 1928, having lain unused and essentially lost since granted to David Kirk and Co. by Charles I in 1637. Sir Edgar Bowring discovered the grant in the heraldry office in London while he was High Commissioner.

In the 1960’s, Newfoundland Historical Society members Arthur Johnson, Premier Joseph R. Smallwood and others were interested in using the Arms more widely, and in November 1966 permission was granted by the government for the Newfoundland Historical Society to use the Newfoundland Coat of Arms as its insignia.